A Big Week for Long Snappers

This week is a very notable one for the long snapping position.

On Saturday, the winner will be announced for the first annual Patrick Mannelly Award to be given to the top senior long snapper at the FBS level.  The selection committee for the Award will be choosing the winner from the three finalists, Liam McCullough (Ohio State), John Shannon (Notre Dame) and Steven Wirtel (Iowa State).

In addition, it became public today that NFL players will help select the Pro Bowl long snappers.  While long snappers have been included in the Pro Bowl for a number of years, they have historically been selected by the coaching staff of the NFL teams involved in coaching the game.  This years is the first in which active players can vote to choose the long snappers.

This entry was posted in NFL, Patrick Mannelly Award, Snapping in the Media. Bookmark the permalink.