2018 Division One Long Snappers

Longsnap.com is proud to release its exclusive compilation of long snappers for each of the Division One FBS college football teams for the 2018 season.

The 2018 list is below and includes uniform number, name, height, weight and class year.  This year’s list should be the most accurate one to date, as it was compiled directly from each team’s official depth charts before the third week of the college season.  Only punt snappers are listed, as some teams use a dedicated punt snapper and kick snapper.

If there are any errors, please email me at kevingold@longsnap.com

2018 Division One Long Snappers

Posted in Coaching

Week Two in Review

Week Two of the NFL season is now complete and marked the successful NFL debut of Trent Sieg with the Raiders.  Sieg replaced Andrew DePaola, who was placed on injured reserve.  Sieg was signed after a workout that included Andrew East, Tanner Carew, Justin Drescher, Jeff Overbaugh and Drew Scott.  The Texans also worked out snapper Zach Triner.

John Denney was able to snap for the Dolphins this week.  In Week One, Denney missed one snap due to a shoulder injury and rookie tight end Durham Smythe handled that snap.  In case Denney could not snap, the team added Lucas Gravelle to the practice squad.  Josh Harris of the Falcons, who missed Week One due to injury, was able to return for Week Two.  There were some major kicking issues in Week Two games, although none of the problems appeared to be related to snapping.

Thomas Hennessey (Jets) and Beau Brinkley (Titans) each recorded solo tackles in punt coverage.

The NFL Long Snappers Chart after Week Two is below.

2018 Week Two

Posted in Uncategorized

Week One In Review

Week One of the 2018 NFL season is complete and there was a big snapping move to start the season, a significant injury late last night and some major milestones.

First, with Josh Harris nursing a hip injury, the Falcons added Jeff Overbaugh from the practice squad to snap in the season opener.  Overbaugh, who snapped three games with the Vikings last year including two in the playoffs, had an issue with an extra point snap in the loss to the Eagles.  He was waived yesterday, making it likely Harris is ready to return Week Two.

On the injury front, Andrew DePaola of the Raiders, who signed a free agent contract with Oakland in the off-season, was injured in the first quarter last night.  DePaola is likely done for the season with a torn ACL.  Tight end Lee Smith snapped the rest of the game and did well in relief.

As for the milestones, John Denney of the Dolphins now owns the NFL’s current streak for consecutive games at 209.  Jon Weeks of the Texans played in his 129th consecutive game and has not missed a game since his debut with the Texans in 2010.  Harris had his 103 consecutive game streak broken when he missed the game Thursday.

Finally, two snappers, Rick Lovato (Eagles) and Jake McQuaide (Rams) recorded assisted tackles in punt coverage, whole James Winchester (Chiefs) recovered a fumbled punt.

The NFL Long Snappers Chart for Week One is below.

2018 Week One

Posted in NFL, Tackles, Transactions

Latest Snapping Moves Prior to Week One

The Buccaneers snapping job went to veteran Garrison Sanborn, who was just brought back after Sanborn and Drew Ferris were both cut Saturday.  With that move, Hunter Bradley of the Packers is the only new snapper on a roster this season.

The Falcons also added Jeff Overbaugh to its practice squad in case of emergency, as Josh Harris has a hip injury and Atlanta opens its season Thursday,

Posted in NFL, Transactions

Snapping Transactions on Cut Down Day

Today is cut down day, the toughest one in the NFL.  Teams are required to take rosters from 90 to 53 players and the snapping position is always impacted.

Prior to this final preseason week, the Buccaneers brought back veteran Garrison Sanborn to compete with Drew Ferris.  However, both were let go today, so it is likely one of them will be back.

The only new snapper as of right now will be Hunter Bradley, the Packers draft pick who won the job over Zach Triner.  Others snappers waived include Trent Sieg (Ravens), Lucas Gravelle (Dolphins), Tanner Carew (Bears), Scott Daly (Cowboys).

Posted in NFL, Transactions

Farr On Senior Bowl Watch List

The Senior Bowl is the top college all-star game held every January in Mobile, Alabama.  Each August, the game releases a Watch List of the nearly 400 seniors that are on the radar to fill the 110 roster sports for each team.  The game includes dedicated snappers for each team but, at least in the last few years, snappers were not included on the pre-season Watch List.

This year’s Watch List was released Thursday and includes one snapper, Ryan Farr from Florida.  Farr’s inclusion means he has a decent chance at being one of the two snappers selected for the game.

Posted in College, NFL Draft

Bears Add Carew

Week Two of the NFL Preseason starts tonight and the Bears have added a snapper.  Tanner Carew, a rookie from Oregon, was added to the Bears roster that already has client Patrick Scales.  Carew was with Seattle until he was waived in July. The number of teams with two snappers remains at five, as the Raiders previously waived rookie Drew Scott.

Posted in NFL, Transactions